Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are databases that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through Google. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.
Academic Search Elite – Full-text articles from over 1,000 journals, covering a range of topics, including business, social sciences, general science, and multiculturalism.
BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
British Columbia Codes (in Library Use Only) – Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code.
British Columbia Statistics – Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society, including full 2016 and historical census data. From BCStats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.
Business Source Premier [EBSCO] – Includes more than 2,000 business journals covering topics such as marketing, management, accounting and finance, as well as information about specific trades, industries and professions. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats) analyses. Video Tutorial [3:31 minutes] EBSCO database guide
Business Plan Handbooks – A compilation of business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Access is made possible by the Small Business Accelerator at the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre at UBC with financial support from the Sutherland Foundation. Tips for searching in business resources
Canadian Encyclopedia – A comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
Clicklaw – An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
Consumer Health Complete [EBSCO] – Health information for the general public, patients and health professionals. Includes mainstream medical information and holistic/alternative health information from popular and professional magazines, journals, reference books and reports. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, with up-to-date information on medications, natural products and vaccines available in the U.S. Video Tutorial [2:55 minutes] or Tips for searching in Consumer Health Complete
Explora Canada – Information for students of all ages on a wide variety of topics, from history and current events to science and technology. Search a variety of sources such as magazines, encyclopedias, primary source documents and more.
Explora Primary Schools – A research interface for K-5. Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research.
Gale Courses – Hundreds of engaging, instructor-led online courses focused on professional development, technology skills, and personal enrichment.
IndieFlix (AKA IndieFlix) – Watch award-winning shorts, features, and documentaries from more than 50 countries. Streaming movies available on all Internet-enabled computers, tablets (including iPad and Android), smart phones through the Web browser, and on Roku and Xbox.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
Library To Go – Download and listen to best selling and classic audio books 24/7 on your PC, laptop, PDA or MP3 player at home, in the office or anywhere in the world. It’s free, all you need is your library card.
MasterFile Premiere – General reference full-text articles from hundreds of books, encyclopedias, and magazines. Includes popular magazines such as Maclean’s, New Yorker.
NoveList [EBSCO] – Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages.
Points to the Past – Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. For research, teaching and learning.
Pronunciator – Learn a new language!
RBdigital – Downloadable ebooks and audiobooks with no waiting period! Try the RBdigital app and get your book fix right away.
Teen Health & Wellness database – Real life – real answers.
Vehicle Safety and Inspection Standards Online (In Library Use Only) Current vehicle safety and inspection standards and related BC legislation.
World Book Encyclopedia – All of these products are available for your use:
- World Book Online Info Finder. Video Tutorial [22:04 minutes]
- World Book Online Reference Center. Video Tutorial [15:52 minutes]
- World Book Online For Kids. Video Tutorials [various]
- L ‘Encyclopédie Découverte. Video Tutorial [4:45 minutes]
- General tips for using World Book Online Reference
Zinio – Online magazines that you can download for free and read on your computer, tablet or smartphone.